Disk Overload 100% solution

Sandbo

I have been using utorrent for 5 years, and have been occasionally running into this issue and solving it mysteriously, today I just got it for my new system.

Spending a day I finally solved it, so I just created an account to share with anyone needing the solution hopelessly.

Environment: Windows 8.1 x64, 100Mbps broadband, access to >10GB files through private tracker

2 harddisks with >1TB volume each

Possible cause of the issue:

1. Too small cache set

Go to the bottom section on setting window to the cache setting, it starts by having only 32MB.

This may work well for most people, but not someone who have very fast internet like 100/1000Mbps.

Sol: Manually override the value and set it to 1000MB, this is the max safe value I have been using for years. Also uncheck the box for "Reduce memory use when not needed", otherwise the value we set would not be meaningful.

As utorrent is 32bit, a memory size too close to 2000MB actually would crash it easily, I experienced some crashes with 1200Mbps or more, but never with 1000Mbps.

2. Write size too small.

utorrent protects our harddrives by using memory for buffering (another reason is harddrive's small size random write is too slow).

Things we download go first to the memory, then they are moved to the location on the harddrive we set blocks of data.

The size of each block was once set to a terribly small value, which in terms limited the speed of moving data (which was too slow to keep memory empty).

Sol: With newer versions, this setting, located at the advance setting:

diskio.coalesce_write_size

Is now set to 2MB. Although it is mainly enough for most people, we can set it to double (4MB) to further cut the number of times we write to disk. (4MB seems to be the largest value effective).

3. Windows Disk Write Cache is NOT OFF

With my new computer I built recently and ran into the problem, the 2 previous solutions didn't work either.