My ISP now blocks P2P

Frokkel

I have been using uTorrent for a couple of years now, without any problems.

I recently 'upgraded' my internet connection to a 1.5Mbps download speed, with my excisting ISP (OneSeniors, an internet provider in Australia for over 55's). The contract stipulates unlimited downloads (excluding P2P)..... I sorta did not pay attention to that when I signed the contract, 'cause I've been with them for years and they never bothered 'throttling' nor 'blocking' me before.

I still had a few Eps from a TV series running on my UTorrent, but they are all blocked now. The DHT says 'waiting to connect' but never does...

What I'm basically asking is: Should I change any settings on my uTorrent program OR is there a way of bypassing my ISP detection?

I have Windows 7 and the latest uTorrent 3.1.2.

I have tried to find solutions online (Google) - but most of the info goes way above head and is too complicated for me to figure out. So please consider the fact that I am 'over 55' and not very internet savvy. Thank you.

Try going into options < preferences < bitorrent (on left sidebar) < protocol encryption (on bottom) < set it to "forced" and UNcheck "allow incoming legacy connections".

also make sure to enable both port mapping options under the "connections" tab on the left sidebar where "bitorrent" is.

Thank you for the suggestion. Still does not work. I uninstalled the uTorrent 3.2. and went back to an earlier version (2.2.1.) - adjusted the settings: no show. Problem seems to be that the [DHT] status remains 'waiting for announce...' and the 4 trackers udp's ccc.de:80, istole.it:80, openbittorent.com:80, and publicbt.com:80 are all 'connection timed out. I'm trying to download The Amazing Race S20E01 - as an example to see if it would work.

I'm afraid I will have to give up on uTorrent and try a more direct way of dlding stuff. without using P2P.

Any suggestions?