user mapped-section open???

crutchfiea1

Im relatively new to utorrent, but the past few downloads ive tried lately have all came up with the same torrent error:user-mapped section open. Right now im defragmenting my hard drive to see if it helps because someone with the same problem told me to do this. I'm using windows vista sp1 and I also have another problem which im not sure is relavent to this forum, my windows explorer keeps freezing at random times. I have to go into task manager and cancel the process and restart the process. Does anyone know any programs that may fix this. I have uniblue power suite which is a registry cleaner, avg antivirus, and outpost firewall. I have the red icon in the bottom of my utorrent window and maybe my port isnt forwarded properly because i have to manually forward it with vista. Where can i get directions to do this? Ive ran the speed test and changed my port to a lower number because vista doesnt like high port numbers. Any help would be great.

• Replies 256
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 4 weeks later...

1) for your utorrent error:First, do a force re-check (right click on the item with the error go down to Force re-check)Then go to C:\Users\"your_user_name"\AppData\Roaming\uTorrent and delete all the .torrent files that you are trying to download (you can delete all of these if u wish they just waste HDD space) finally start to download the file again.

2) for your explorer.exe you might wanna reinstall windows.

3) for your port problem go to www.portfoward.com then click guides, and under port fowarding, click port fowarding by router, choose your router and follow the steps there.

and also make sure all your firewalls allow utorrent.exe

Krazzei thank you for providing help. However giving instructions without possible un-intentional side effects is rude IMNSHO.