Encryption Not working after May 1st on Rogers

HyperXX

i have been using 1720 on rogers for a long time with encrption enabled and it worked great. i could always get over 250 kb/s and always uploaded at my max. now i can barely break 10 kb/s. they have done something new. i have no option except 1.5 mbs DSL which isnt good enough for me.

Use a port above 30,000.

Set Encryption to "forced" & uncheck "allow incoming legacy connections."

Rodger's newer dirty trick is dropping tracker connections. So you need some type of proxy or secure connection for tracker communication, let the encryption handle connections to other peers.

Use a port above 30,000.

Set Encryption to "forced" & uncheck "allow incoming legacy connections."

Rodger's newer dirty trick is dropping tracker connections. So you need some type of proxy or secure connection for tracker communication, let the encryption handle connections to other peers.

I'm sorry, but I'm really a noob and I'm curious, who/what is Rodger?

so are you saying have http tracker encrypted?

Yes, some users of Rodgers have been able to restore their speeds using a secure proxy for tracker communications.

I'm sorry, but I'm really a noob and I'm curious, who/what is Rodger?

They're a Canadian ISP that for some reason is trying to kill all p2p traffic. To them it doesn't matter if it's legal or not.

I'm on Rogers and I've noticed that if I put my upload to the max, they kill the connection every 10 mins on average and then I have to go into my settings and change the port each time. My max upload on my cable is 50kb and all I did was lower the max upload to 40kb and now it barely disconnects. Only 2 or 3 times in the past week. Now I can browse and upload.

I also lowered max connections from 400 to 180, peers per torrent to 90 and max active torrents to 2.

I also have Rogers and hate it totally. If it were up to me I would switch but my parents work pays for Rogers so I get it free.