Permanent Yellow Connection Icon

herbiman

I've been using uTorrent for a couple of years and have always been delighted with it!

However, now I've updated to 1.6, my network connection icon is more-or-less permanently yellow (I have seen it turn green for a few seconds).

This apparently means "No incoming connections. Unless the icon turns green, it could indicate a problem with your network configuration."

When I run "Test if port is forwarded properly" it says the port does not appear to be open. But, my router (& other tests) show that the port IS forwarded correctly to my static IP.

Amazingly, I'm still getting very satisfactory upload and download speeds!

I've tried changing the port number, but it makes no difference.

So is this a bug? Or how can I fix it? Or should I just leave it?

Thanx for the reply. I don't run Live Messenger, or any other chat program (no mates!).

But you're missing my point. uTorrent appears to be working perfectly in terms of dl/ul. It's just that rather troubling icon, and the failed port forwarding test.

Herbiman I am pretty much in the same boat as you. I have the port forwarded as well even though the tests are saying otherwise (red status light).

However, I can still connect to other peers and seeds and am still getting decent download and upload speeds.

I tried some "fixes" but none of them seem to have worked. Like disabling DHT hasn't done jack for me.

I'm glad I'm not the only one with this odd problem.

Lets hope it's just a bug :D

Like some other users, since upgrading to 1.6, I've had a permanent yellow connection icon, and I fail the port forwarding test, despite continuing to dl and ul torrents. I had come to the conclusion that this was a bug (because I WAS still getting files), but I no longer think this.

On my XP SP2 system using a router and port forwarding, I solved the problem simply by re-installing the EVID patch http://www.lvllord.de/?lang=en&url=downloads