Can't get a green light. PLEASE HELP!!

islamlife

I am very new to all this and not too tech saavy when it comes to pc's so please keep it in simple terms so I can follow. I can't get a port to open. I have created a static IP and went into router settings step by step as explained by portforwading.com . Didn't help. I have a Motorola WR850G wirelss router and a Motorola Surf Board modem (model SB5101) . Any suggestions?

I wanted to add that I updated the firmware to v6.1.4 and re-configured my router (port forwarding) and still NOTHING!! One thing I noticed is that when I go to "run" type "command" then type "ipconfig/all" , it shows "Dhcp enabled" as "NO" would this have any bearing on my problem? I am using Mozilla Firefox and Windows XP and Norton Antivirus 2006 in case anyone knows of any security settings that may be the culprit.Thanks!

I am getting rediculously slow download speeds like .02 kB/s - 40 kB/s

Who is your ISP? It is possible they are blocking the port you are using, or maybe you still have SOME firewall blocking it.

Road Runner is my ISP. I went to some websites that scan for open ports and they didn't come up with ANY? What other firewall could there be?

Well, if it's something running on your computer, do this:

Hit control alt delete. Click the Processes tab. Hit Alt + PrintScreen. Open up your paint program of choice. Hit control V. Save as jpeg. Post the image here in the forums. That way we can go through the list of processes you have running to see if you have some other firewall running.

SL83: tasklist is probably a better way to do it

I totally forgot about that command.

Would be a lot easier :)

Start >Run> cmd /k tasklist>C:\tasklist2.txt

Then go to your C drive and grab the text file, and paste the contents here. :)

Thanks Firon.