firewall, norton and me

bunnyt

firstly thanks a lot to Firon and Switeck for their assistance/comments with regard to my problems in a previous thread - your help was most appreciated. u guys were right, of course, i don't have a router (only a vdsl modem that connects me directly to a LAN network) and i don't need to worry about port-forwarding. believe it not, now every time i check to see if my ports are open it is all green light and everything is go go go. hopefully my solution will help others who may be in a similar situation to myself - please read on even if you do use a router. i am a relative newbie when it comes to computers so you experts will probably immediately recognize where i was going wrong and what i should have done weeks ago.