UTorrent keeps slowing and then crashing

Mister Moisture

I have been using uTorrent for about 15 years to download but I have no real idea of the technical side at all so please be patient. 

I have noticed for some time and especially since the  last update that it seems to take over and hog my internet and everything else slows down until the internet crashes.  The first sign is that my PC slows to a crawl and trying to access a website using Chrome takes forever.  Usually I get tod that there is no internet, even though UTorrent is still downloading.  Sometimes, I can just wait and it will reconnect very soon.  Other times, I have to remove the cable from the USB wifi adaptor, reconnect it and off she goes again.  I might have to do this more than once before it ‘clicks’ and reconnects automatically.

At times, I remove the cable, reconnect and nothing happens, then when I try to connect manually, first it says ‘checking Windows requirements’ but then I get told Windows can’t connect and I have to reboot.

Then other times, things seem to just freeze and I have to reboot my PC when it usually reconnects and starts downloading again OK.  However, there are times when even rebooting doesn’t work and I have to not only power off, but also remove the plug from the wall and reset the router in another room before reconnecting to the mains and starting from scratch.

This doesn’t happen too often but probably 2 or 3 times a week.  Having said that, the internet crashed as I was typing this and I had to unplug both the router and PC for about 5 minutes, then try to reconnect and it refused to connect twice, but on the third attempt it finally did.  This was in the space of about 10 minutes.