PinguJohn

We respect your privacy! screen appears on starting utorrent

Recommended Posts

When I start uTorrent v3.5.5 (build 45672) I now get a "We respect your privacy!" screen.

I never used to get this on previous versions.

Can this be stopped?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I have this very same super annoying "We respect your privacy!" screen too.

What on earth is going on? I have even tried rolling back and just can't get rid of it.

This will stop me using uTorrnet altogether unless it can be fixed.

Are many other users seeing this too?

 

 

PrivacyInvasion.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think I have solved the problem of the "We respect your privacy!" screen appearing every time I start utorrent.

This so far has worked for me, but I cannot take any responsibility if it does not work for you.

Click "Help" and then select "Update Privacy Consent" from the drop down menu.

Select "Disagree" for all categories and then click "Save".

Close and restart uTorrent for the changes to take effect.

 

Also if you want to remove sponsored Ads from uTorrent.

Again, I cannot take any responsibility if this does not work for you.

Click "Options" and then select "Preferences" from the drop down menu.

Select "Advanced” from the list on the left side of the Preferences window.

Change the "Value" of the following entries from "True" to "False":-

     bt.enable_pulse
     gui.show_notorrents_node
     gui.show_plus_upsell
     offers.content_offer_autoexec
     offers.left_rail_offer_enabled
     offers.sponsored_torrent_offer_enabled

Click "OK" to save your changes.

Return to the Advanced Options screen and type "offer" into the "Filter" box.

Now, change all of those currently set to "True" to "False"

Entries I found that were set to "True" were:-

     offers.cookie.customized_ads
     offers.featured_content_rss_randomize

Click "OK" to save your changes.

Click "File" and then "Exit" to close uTorrent.

Restart uTorrent to make sure the changes have taken effect.

 

Best of luck

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Pingu, glad you got it working but tried your description and still the same Privacy popup for me.

I have had to roll back to a much older version to stop it happening. Hopefully they will fix this in an update.

Is any body else experiencing this?

 

Edited by chip33

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hi Pingu, yes, I am wondering if it is just a case of changing a setting in a file like settings.dat to keep the change you made sticky for me.

Hopefully someone who knows will help out, until then I'm back on version .45449 . All the best :)

 

 

Edited by chip33

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry for bad experience.

By the law we should show that message.

If user accepts or declines the message, we do not show it any more.

If user just clicks on {x} button we have to show it on every restart until clear answer is given. Again that is by the the law and we have no control over it.

But if you do declined or accepted the message and it appears again - that is a bug.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello Sergey,

thanks for your response. I do not know why but I just upgraded to v 3.5.5.45672 again and this time the message is gone 

I still have no idea why it happened but am happy that it has somehow fixed itself. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, chip33 said:

After a system reboot the privacy notice still reappears again so the issue is not solved for me.

Tried with my settings (see at my sig)?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi rafi, thanks, will look into it. I agree it does seem like an issue with something like settings.dat

I have been losing all my settings at times.

Where is the history of downloaded torrents stored? If I can replace that I can do a clean install to try to fix the issue.

Thanks,

Chris

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just backup yours and try using my setting file (it's clean from any "history"...) , if it solves the issue, tune it to your needs (port/directories/etc) later on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi rafi, thanks, will do, do you know in which file the torrent history is stored, I would like to be able to keep a copy of that file so I could replace that but am not sure where it is kept.

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What do you mean "history? And why do you need the torrents' *history*?  They used to keep it in settings.dat, and the current state in resume.dat,  not sure it is still in setting.dat. Anyway, just backup all the *.dat files near settings.dat.

Edited by rafi

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.