Copyrighted material Q

pstephe1

I am new to this "torrent" thing and was downloading several TV shows I enjoy. I got an email from my ISP this AM about it. I quickly stopped downloading and deleted what I had downloaded.

I was hoping to catch the episode of the TV show I had missed, but I am not particularly fond of either going to jail or paying hefty fines. My question is this: Is there an easy way to determine copyrighted material?

Or is it safer to assume (yea assume is a bad thing) anything current on TV (here in the US) is basically copyrighted.

"Or is it safer to assume [...] anything [...] is [...] copyrighted."

As far as I (as a non american) know about your copyright law over there everything that is created is automaticly protected by your laws.

And then it depends how the creator of the artistic work license this to the public.

TV shows are normaly not licensed to be shared among others.

To be on the save side you should concentrate your sharing affords on copyrighted work where the creator welcomes the distribution by the public. This concept is called "creative commons" (CC).

You can find huge ammounts of CC work all over the net.

One place for example: http://www.legaltorrents.com/index.htm

More info about this CC thingy: http://creativecommons.org/

P.S. If the mail you got is really from your ISP and it has something to do with a subpoena because the nice mediasentry spys got you, then it would not help you at all to delete your copies NOW. Be prepared to pay those dinosaurs ~ 3500-4500 USD.

I don't know their actuall prizes they want for their failure to adopt to digital age business models at the moment ;)

Edit:

regarding post below:

Unfortunately those who makes the laws are not so wise like you dAbReAkA ;)