Download stuck at 99.x%

torrent_user

I just started to use utorrent. I am on 1.6 build 474. I noticed a few downloads stuck at 99.x%. The down speed show 0 kb/s for hours while the up speed still shows going. The download file does not have !ut appended anymore. I was wondering if the download has actually completed and I can use the file. Some files are data file rather than program , I have no way to tell if I got it all.

I am new to this. I am hoping that someone can point me to the right direction as to what I did worng or how I can do some diagnostic to get closer to the problem.

No, there is no thumbs.db.

Does seed 0(0) means the file is no longer available ? So I have to wait for someone who have that file to beome the seed ? Please excuse my ignorance, I am starting to learn about how all these works.

Another one that got stuck shows seed 0(4), what does the (4) mean ?

I have typically several torrents hanging there at 99.x % for days and weeks, they cycle in and out of active tab depending if some new people come on line that create demand (leach)... most of us here know that scenario

simple answer is the lack of seeds, I suppose the way this situation happens is that there was initially one person that was downloading from seed(s) and got to 99.x% (or whatever %) and then all seeds went away and he left the torrent hanging there hoping seed(s) will come back but they never do, instead new people start the torrent and leach off him and gradually they get to those 99.x% that he got and their numbers grow with time and the seed never comes back again