Static IP Issues

Momo

I'm new to uTorrent, but I've read through the suggested guidelines and searched the forum thoroughly for an answer to my questions, and I've found none specific to my problems.

First of all, I realized I need to create a static IP to make uTorrent work, because mine is automatic. I'm on my cousin's networked DSL Internet connection, so first and foremost I want to know how these changes will affect the other two computers on the network. I assume there will be no harm done to their computers or their connections, but I don't want to go screwing around with other peoples' computers before I know what exactly will happen.

I followed the uTorrent static IP guide to have a look at what I was dealing with. The two DNS servers I found in the DOS prompt were identical; the guide said to call my ISP if they didn't work, but it said nothing about them being identical. Do I also need to call my ISP in this case?

My last concern is that one of the computers on the network has no listed Default Gateway, in place of "DNS servers," it says "WINS servers," and the IP address and subnet masks are both listed as "0.0.0.0," which doesn't seem right to me. I suspect this is because the computer wasn't purchased but built by my uncle, but I really have no clue.

If anyone can shed any light, I'd greatly appreciate it. And I apologize if, despite my searching, I managed to ask a redundant question.

Alright. . . so I set up a static IP for my own computer, leaving the Alternate DNS server field blank (haven't changed the other computers in the house, being that I have no idea what to do with the one that has no Default Gateway). I am getting faster speeds on uTorrent now, but it still says that the port isn't open and I still have a yellow "no incoming connections" icon.

I'm using Windows XP.