Help with port fowarding, im so sik of downloading at 6kbs. HELP!!!

cracket

Hey, im new to utorrent and have been loving it but i have one really bad problem, i always seem to be getting really bad speeds, its always around 6 kbs a second and i usually download around 50. Ive herd that the issue is that my router a dlink 604 g or sumthing needs to foward ports, can anyone giv me instructions on how to do this and will it comprimise my security at all? an answer would be greatly appreciated, i hate having to waiting days to download a normal sized file......

Cheers

http://www.utorrent.com/setup_guide.php

Although it may sound like a security risk to "poke" a hole in your firewall, it is not the case. If no application is listening on the port that is opened in your firewall, any incoming connections on that port will be ignored. If an application is listening, security is up to that application. There is no known exploit for µTorrent that might break your computer's security setup, so there is no known risk in opening a port on your firewall for µTorrent.

thx 4 the quick reply mate, ok ive had a bit of a look at the settings and found something that was totally screwed up, the upload rate was at a limit of 1kb per sec, so i changed that to 0 and instantly the down speed shot from 6.0kb into the 20's........ Do i still need to tinker more to find a better speed or is this the sorta speed it should be at on a adsl 512mb down 128mb up connection?

ok, now its dropped to around 10kbs :( ive got 5 outta 12 seeds and 4 outta 29 peers, is this about right for my connection?

thanks 4 the help man

Dlink DI-604 supports UPnP (universal plug and play). I know this because I have one (though I don't use it anymore). You'll need to go into the router settings and enable UPnP, if it's not already. Here's how:

1. Open your router's settings.

2. Click the "tools" tab, and on the left side menu click the "Misc." button.