AVG & Utorrent

toostrike

I have a few questions.I am using AVG Anti-Virus Plus 7.5 trial version.It is the combination anti-virus/firewall.I have a cable modem,but am not using a router.I use private and public trackers.I disabled the DHT settings for the private trackers.I also disable port mapping.I'm wondering if I should do this on pubilic trackers too?It doesnt seem to hurt my speeds.

Speed test average 4492 D/ 442 U

Do I need to forward the port that utorrent uses?I'm new to this stuff...Do I need to tell my firewall what port utorrent uses?

I seem to get good download speeds.Never had any problems.I configered my modem using the speed guide,and made some small adjustments to the settings.My download speeds average from 150KB/s to 350KB/ on healthy seeded torrents consistently.

My trail wil expire in 15 days so I need a firewall that works good with utorrent.I want to stay away from Zone Alarm.I have my reasons.

Anti-Virus-I like Avast Home Edition.It uses little resources,and seems to update everyday.I have used it in the past,but things change,so I'm up in the air on this decision too!

I just need to overall advice,on my u-torrent settings,and protection.I'm considering just getting a damm router,but for now I'll let it go.

A software firewall is also limited in how good it is based on how secure the operating system it's running on is.

What's the good in having a deadbolt and chain on a screen door?

That's why many people are using routers as hardware firewalls.

Perhaps other posters can give you a list of better software firewalls than Zone Alarm to try/use?

I just use my linksys router -- even blocking ports on it that are LAN-specific, and have removed many internet-using apps that I don't want.

I have a router and feel safer for it but I still use a software firewall for 2 reasons.

1. My software firewall still blocks access attempts so it seems my router's firewall is not that good.