Windows Vista and utorrent. "Error access denied"

bwishkey

I am not a computer wizard by any means and a response in non technical terms would be great. I am running windows vista and utorrent 1.6.1 and ever since getting the new version of utorrent I start to download a torrent and after a minute or 2 the torrent stops and a message comes up saying "errorr Access is denied". I have tried the suggestions on the trouble shooting guide. I am not running msn desktop and I have scanned my hard drives to find a diskio_flush file to no avail. I am getiing really frustrated. Will anyone please help me?

I am having almost the exact same issue....repeated "process cannot access file" messages....i'm fairly new to utorrent, but i was able to puzzle through all the suggestions in the faq with no success (no google or msn desktop, i use firefox, not explorer, and i turned off file indexing. or at least, i'm pretty sure i did. antivirus also not an issue)

I can't pinpoint where the snag is, but three days ago i was using WinXp, WinMedia10, and the version of utorrent immediately before the new release a day or two ago. i experienced no problems whatsoever, and my speed was frequently 80kb+

With a new computer two days ago came Vista and WinMedia11 and the new version of utorrent. thus my trouble pinpointing the origin of the error message.

however, i've found the following:

1. i have no difficulty downloading flac files.

2. i have no difficulty downloading xvid files.

3. speed has been reduced in both cases, however

4. mp3 generate the same error message every time "process cannot access file...being used by another program"

5. the mp3 downloads are interrupted at random points, and simultaneous download attempts are not stopped at the same time.

any insight to this issue would be appreciated.....

thanks