Port forwarding problem/ help needed/ yellow triangle will not go away

alywishus

Hi , Hope someone can help. I get the yellow triangle telling me there is no incoming connection. However, I am getting upload and download albeit very slow, max 11kbps.

I have tried port forwarding as suggested, I have a sweex A router, nvidea nforce connection, firewall enabled but exempting utorrent. No matter what I do I cannot get rid of the triangle, I have been into config to get the right addresses, what I have found that might be relevant is my I.P. address is 10.0.0.12, when asked to use this address to connect to the sweex site it displays INTERNET page not found, if I type in 10.0.0.2 it connects and I get the boxes to input the address numbers. I am not very experienced with utorrent but I do know about computers, is there something I am doing wrong or does anyone have any ideas. I have seen somewhere that nvidea nforce has some kind of firewall, I do not know if I have it or where to look for it, could this also be the problem.

Incidental, I know it is not my computer at fault.

Hope someone can help, alywishus.

No incoming connections means you're firewalled such that nobody can out-of-the-blue connect to you. But since you ARE connecting to and downloading/uploading, then you aren't firewalled in both directions. It's like having a telephone that never rings. Nobody can "call" you, but you can dial out. But that means you cannot connect to anyone else who is firewalled (they never hear their phone ring either)...so your speeds likely are very low. (Roughly 70% of everyone are firewalled, the number is probably higher for broadband users due to router use and Win XP SP2's software firewall.)