(a lot of) Questions

Bayz0r

Hi all,

So I've been using uTorrent and torrents in general for about 3 months now, and I've had a quite a few questions piling up. I'm going to list them here in hopefully somewhat of an orderly fashion.

1. Why out of the dozens or hundreds of peers or seeds in swarm, I only end up connecting (ie actually downloading) from 8-10 per torrent (I'm not saying it is capped at 10, but I certainly never connect to 100). If the issue has to do with patching my TCPIP.sys, I have already done that, and that number is set at 150.

2. My download speeds have dropped considerably over the past few days, hardly ever exceeding 50KB/s on any given torrent. I have however ran a test in downloading Open Office, and the speed there is 250KB/s constant. Is it then just a question of bad luck in the seeds/peers? Or is it possible that some trackers are throttling me for having a rather crappy ratio? (the reason for the bad ratio is that I've been terribly short on disk space up to a week ago, limited to a 40GB HDD, so I couldn't afford to keep stuff around after completion).

2b. If indeed I am being throttled, does restoring my ratios work to solve the problem and if so how long would that normally take? (note that I have the same sluggish speed from any number of different trackers that I try, or so it would seem).

3. Why are my downloads and uploads working fine (in the conditions described above) even when the usually green tick at the bottom is red. Yes, while it's red and says people will not be able to connect to me, I still upload at my max upload speed. (fyi, I hardly ever get a red mark, but I was just curious).