Reasoning behind 'Maximum number/connections/torrent'?

tones12

Hi,

I'm brand new to utorrent (and P2P in general), and while I've scoured these forums and various other sources (and crammed in a lot of information in the process/ whether I understand it is another question!) I cannot get my noddle around this setting.

I have a 129u/960d connection, 2 max active torrents, 1 max download (that way i'm always seeding and maxing out the ul bandwidth)), 1 ul slot/torrent (checked additional slots), throttled the ul at 10kB when downloading, maxed it out at 15kB when seeding only (works fine ul speeds average between 14-16kB)- but I can't figure what the best no of connections/torr is. The speed guide says 55/torrent, but what's the point of being connected to 55 peers with 1 upload slot (or 2-3 depending on the connection speeds), and doesn't it also take up unnecessary ul bandwidth when dl? Doesn't starting low (ie 16-20 connections) and gradually augmenting the no of connections achieve better speeds?

Another question is: am I limiting my dl speeds by ul 2 files (dl 1,seeding 1), ie by limiting the ul bandwith to the swarm I'm dl from? And if so, will forcing the dl connection prioritize ul to that swarm? Or does it not make any difference how much and to whom I ul as long as my overall ul speed is >6kB?

Since when seeding only, my ul limit is 50% higher (15kB to 10 when dl), it's better all round if I dl faster, and then seed only to achieve decent ratios (not easy on a 130k connection!).

I hope I've made some kind of sense here!

Thx.

Overhead from having too many connections started can kill connections. If your connection isn't fast enough, then if you allow too many connections, µTorrent spends more time and bandwidth saying hello (connecting) to other clients rather than actually downloading from them. It's a waste.

Except for very fast connections, having beyond 30 connections per torrent is a waste.