Problem i just can't seem to fix.

fishhead

Brief background first off; I'm totally new to the whole torrent downloading thing. I've only just got broadband and previously didn't want to keep my dialup running for weeks on end. I've chosen µtorrent because, well, apparently it's good.

But i seem to be running in to plenty of problems. So far most have been fixed by searching the forums. Things like my general internet traffic slowing whilst running torrents was fixed pretty quickly.

Either way I'm pretty certain I've done everything i can to try and remedy the general slowness I'm experiencing with torrents. Now it could be that I'm expecting too much but I think that getting a max of 17-20 kB/s per torrent is quite slow, if it's not please do correct me. Keep in mind that is quite fast for what I seem to be normally getting. Usually it's around the 5 kB/s per torrent with no more then 4 torrents downloading. Max speed I've ever had was downloading 3 torrents and I reached the lofty heights of 50 kB/s.

And before someone asks, the status alternates between NAT error and Network OK, rather randomly too.

So here's what I've done. The port for incoming connections is forwarded both on TCP and UDP. I also have ports 6881 – 6889 forwarded on TCP.

The important µtorrent stats are:

max upload = 20

max download = 80

global max connections = 200

max peers per torrent = 60

upload slots per torrent = 3

incoming port = 10001

UPnP and DHT are enabled and all the advanced options are at default.

Non µtorrent important bits:

1500/256 ADSL (nowhere near 20 Gig cap and ISP couldn't care less what we download)

NBL1300+4 ADSL modem (no idea of firmware version)

WinXP (SP2 installed and firewall off completely)

Only firewall is ZoneAlarm (which has green ticks for all things µtorrent)

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

its wierd that it shifts from Network Error to Network OK.