super-seed function needs improvement

mezigues

hey all

first of all, let me thank the staff for such a great bittorrent client!

i've been using it for 2 months now and it's become my fav

i'm currently using the version 1.2.1 beta3 on a 1GB RAM Windows XP SP2 and i never had a bug

still, there's somethind bugging me: the super-seed function

i really need it since i release a lot, and the super-seed allows to get other seeds sooner than normal mode (about 700MB uploaded and u have seeds on a 700MB with super-seed, but you'll have to upload about 900MB to get seeds in normal mode)

it's important to me cause as soon as i get seeds, it makes then possible to start seeding something else!

symptoms:

i start seedind a torrent in normal mode: my up speed reaches almost instantly the max limit > perfect

i go to super seed mode: my up rate drops a lot and then just keep fluctuating between 0 and say 70% of the max limit > a lot less perfect

the worst is that it stays at 0kbs up for long times...

i insist on the fact that it's not due to any problem with my comp/connection

(no NAT for me and utorrent is always at max values when i don't use super-seed mode)

honestly: if utorrent had a super-seed mode as efficient as bittornado's one, it really would become the very best client!

could you please add this to the to-do list?

thanks!

One way to do this is to set the option "use more upload slots if upload is < 90% of max", then set the global upload limit, even if it's slightly more than your capacity. If the super-seeding is too slow, it'll add more upload slots.

This only works on swarms with enough peers.

Ya Nite (I know u from ur website and tracker, witch am a member of. Thx for all that good job, btw! ^^ )

I know that and i tried it too, but the fact is am registered on several trackers where everyone has good ratios (and has to) but there's only a few peers on each torrent (as really a lot are added each day)