problems with becoming "clever"...

odorofsilence

i'm having major trouble getting my port unblocked for utorent

i used portfoward.com to forward the port but it still says that a "firewall/router is blocking my network traffic".

i have disabled the firewalls on my computer, changed my port number then re-forwarded the new number, and i have spent the past 2 days browsing forums such as this for an answer to my problems.

any suggestions?

hahaha yeah i didn't think of that

i'm using a Belkin F5D7231-4P

i'm also using a DSL modem

i assigned my computer a static IP (192.168.2.136)

and fowarded the port on my router

i turned off my windows firewall and when the port remained blocked i turned the firewall back on and unblocked the port on it

the port i am using is 61310 (the old one is 21636)

i am not sure though if it is outside the DHCP range because i don't really know what that means...i'm new to all of this

also...i'm not sure if this has to do with this but i am using a program (Easy Net Switch) which allows me to change my IP settings from home to school (at home i use the static IP)

anything else you guys need to know?

I am thinking you have the Dreaded 2 Router syndrome I still need to know the Make & Model of the Modem as sometimes they turn out to be Combo units. I would also reccommend a port in the 10000-50000 range as they are the Ports not likely to be blocked.

OK now we know your Static IP we need to find what the Start & End Range of the DHCP is, usually found in the Routers "Status" Menu or just look for anything labled DHCP.

Is that Modem a Westell?? If so you have 2 Routers and you need to either put the Modem in Bridged Mode or follow this guide to turn the 2nd Router into a Switch/Hub/WAP:

http://forum.portforward.com/YaBB.cgi?board=Knowledge;action=display;num=1133918703

As for the DHCP range you need to lower the Range from .253 to .100!!

The_Nephilim

Message from OdorOfSilence: