Seeding modified archive

o770

Hello. I'm new to BitTorrent/uTorrent. Would anybody pls help me understand the following about seeding?

If I've got a music album for instance, and there are files that I'm not keeping, like the bunch of usual txt, log, covers etc; may I still seed the incomplete torrent or I should create and upload a new one of the actual content? Or perhaps I should create a new torrent of the actual content and keep the tracker(s), so that uTorrent only uploads the files I have?

As long as you skip the files when you download them, you can ignore them, and assuming they don't share pieces with other files you didn't skip, µTorrent won't upload them. If you remove the torrent from µTorrent, though, and want to re-upload, some of the existing files you will have finished by then might not be considered complete by µTorrent, and their missing pieces will have to be redownloaded.

So even the files I skipped might be downloaded when seeding, just because uTorrent could consider the Torrent incomplete? That wouldn't happen, right? What am I missing?

The purpose is to seed part of the Torrent content along with other seeders, instead of creating and uploading a new Torrent only because I have excluded (or skipped) one TXT file.

> So even the files I skipped might be downloaded when seeding,

> just because uTorrent could consider the Torrent incomplete?

http://forum.utorrent.com/viewtopic.php?pid=262290#p262290

Bittorrent has to download files in pieces. So, even if you skipped the text file, it may have already been downloaded if the text file is completely in a piece that you already downloaded. There's not much benefit in skipping small files.