uTorrent keeps shutting down ??

doonboggle

After a few minutes of d/l, uTorrent stops activity; in essence becoming inactive. If I try to reactivate, nothing is accomplished. But if I exit out, and then reboot the computer after a few minutes, it seems to function OK ... for the next few minutes, and then repeats. Any ideas? I'm not an expert at this so please keep it basic if you will. Thanks

OK, well the first question is, is uT using 100% CPU?

Next follows line of questioning related to how much RAM/CPU/hard disk activity uT is causing.

Additionally can you interact with the main GUI while this "freeze" happens?

IS this new behaviour or is it old? If it is new, have you added/changed any software recently?

Back to the freeze... when you have to reboot, does force closing uT solve the problem, instead of a hard reboot?

Do you know if you are running any anti-spy/ad/malware software.

IF you want to help move some of these questions along, noting uT process RAM and CPU usage (under Windows Task Manager) and running HiJackThis and pasting the log in a post below will be the first step :).

Thank you for your information.

Oh boy.... I'll try to respond as best I can. Please bear with me on the others as they are at the moment out of my league.

First, the only active program regarding virus is Avast. The only firewall is what is out there from my router. I have disengaged the built in Windows firewall.

This has recently started. The only new programs that I can recall, since I do not download that often, is a couple of programs having to do with digital picture clean-up; Gimp for one. Also Faststone Image Viewer. The other programs that are activated are Spybot, Avast of course and YPops, a utility that lets me Pop3 web mail from Yahoo. I've used these for some time now and have not had any problems to date.