How to setup seedbox?

rpger81

Hey guys I want to rent a server to use as a seedbox but I've never done it before and I wanted to ask a few questions.

1) Does a VPS offer the needed rights to use utorrent or must it be dedicated?

2) OS needs to be windows I assume?

3) How would I actually setup and control utorrent? (broad question I know but I'm really clueless here)

Thanks in advance.

1) Usually they do. You need access to the OS and you need to be able to open ports for traffic.

2) Preferably. Maybe Wine will work but no guarantees.

3) Either you use SSH or another way to 'Remote Desktop' or you use the webui (which has limited functionality) to control µtorrent. To setup µtorrent you HAVE to use 'remote desktop' functionality.

Frankly this is not really the best place to ask. Ask the VPS provider you have in mind.

• 3 months later...

I don't know if your question was answered or not, but I saw this thread while Googling for some information of my own and felt the need to answer your question!

For starters:

- VPS will do the job 100% as long as you have root

- Just make sure you don't do a lot of hash checking as it consumes high amounts of CPU for short periods of time but they will still get pissed off about it since you're on a shared node with other users.

- You do not need to use a windows based client (Google rTorrent)

- rTorrent even has a built in 'gui' if you would so you can see your downloads in real-time in the SSH program (I suggest PuTTy)

- This is all easily done with SSH'ing in with a few commands that you can probably read in a guide if you just google it :)

-- CentOS 5 and Fedora Core 7 worked just fine for me as an OS Choice.

You can probably use other stuff as well!

- Sorry if this is a bit unorganized

Hope I was of some help. Let me know if you have any other questions!

-Fez

> 1) Does a VPS offer the needed rights to use utorrent or must it be dedicated?