My internet connection breaks off intermittently while using utorrent

evil mime

I'm connected wirelessly to a motorola sbg900 modem in my bros room. When using utorrent, my connection kinda goes haywire every 30 seconds and everything BUT utorrent can't connect to the internet. I have to disconnect and reconnect my wireless adapter before I can access the net with anything other than utorrent. This problem only occurs when bittorent in running and d/l stuff...so somethings up. If it helps, about 3 times over the 1 day period that i've been having this issue Norton will say it has blocked an intrusion, and when i look at details it's an intrusion on my computer FROM my computer, more specifically from the port that utorrent is set to.

okay, none of that worked. I'm not very tech savvy at all, but I think it might have something to do with the static ip address. I could never get it to work, even after following the instructions here http://www.portforward.com/networking/static-xp.htm

I would plug in all the info, but my computer wouldn't connect...

# Color of the network status light in µTorrent's status bar (at the bottom of the µTorrent main window)

green, with a checkmark in the middle

# What the port checker from the Speed Guide writes

Welcome to the µTorrent Port Checker.

A test will be performed on your computer to check if the specified port is opened.

Checking port 52754 on 206.255.206.232...

OK! Port 52754 is open and accepting connections.

You will be able to receive incoming BitTorrent connections.

# What the Speed Guide shows your settings to be (press Ctrl+G in µTorrent)

Connectiong type: xx/384k

Upload Limit: 35kB/s

Upload Slots: 4

Upload Connections: 80

Max active torrents: 3

Max active dowloads: 2

Port: 52754

Encryption enabled

# What you have net.max_halfopen set to (Preferences > Advanced in µTorrent)

# Operating system installed (Windows XP, 2000, ME, 98, 95, NT? Something else?)

XP