speed guide warning

aussie battler

Hello i"m getting a message when I do a speed test. Its Says "warning your isp shows signs of uploading compression". I have been using utorrent for over 12 months and I am starting to fool around with the settings to try and get a better download speed. I read your guide, adjusted connection type (xx/256) and done port forwarding which did help to some degree (it went from download 15 kb/s and upload 2.5 kb/s to 30 kb/s and 20 kb/s) which I am happy with.

Any way my question is can I get around my isp compressing my upload speed?? Any tricks to help would be appreciated. I have dsl 1.5 Mb/s cable and thought that I would be getting alot better speed when dowloading and uploading. Speed test results averaged around 960 kb/s download and 200 upload.

Thanks.

You already get 200 KiBps upload in uT?!? or is that the speedtest. Compression means for a certain size it buffers the data (I think it 10 MB or something). Basically you can run a test torrent from the How-To to check your download.. as you incrementally raise the upload (5% at a time is what I recommend)... until you no longer get a horizontal upload line AND / OR your download plummets. That is the point at which you want to lower your upload.

Thanks for your reply jewelisheaven. Sorry about my lateness.

That was the speed test that i got 200 kb/s. Ok I have test torrents now and have some good results.

Slackware-10.2-iso Peaked at 35 kb/s and levelled to around 28 kb/s. Upload was around 20 kb/s.

OOo_2.3.1_win32intell_install Peaked at 150 kb/s and levelled at 130 kb/s but my upload was only .2 kb/s I did have only one peer who I was uploading to.

So it seems that everything is in working order? What was the message that I got about my isp compressing my uploads? Are these sort of results what you would expect from adsl 1500 kb/s? I am happy with these results but what is your opinion?