Speed problem, ready to give up

1_robbo

Hi, sorry you probably had these questions a million times but i am new to this so please bear with me.

I have a new PC as of last week running Vista

I am also now on ADSL 8meg broadband through a modem/router Edimax AR-7084gA.

I have created a static IP address and forwarded the port 6881 as per the instructions from "portforward.com"

I have allowed Utorrent through windows firewall and also tried it completely disabled, the same with Mcafee firewall.

I have unchecked the Upn box etc

I have downloaded latest Utorrent client, installed it.

When trying a torrent download i get the green status ok sign.

I have checked the ports are forwarded using the utorrent port checker and they are and allowing incoming connections.

I have done a speed check and the results are 638 kbps down

332 kbps up

So....... any ideas why i get no more than 12kbps download speed ? and usually more like 3 kbps !!

My old connection using the same Internet provider on my old modem still 8meg was lightening fast.

Anymore info required and i will try my best but i am at a loss at the moment.

Your help would be greatly apreciated

Thanks

Forgot to add, i tried Ares i get 60odd kbps

Thanks

Had a line test done today and i am getting 4 meg.

Any ideas pretty pleeease !!!

Thanks Ultima,

Dowloading the OpenOffice test torrent gave me 95kbps max download speed but average about 40-50kbps thats with speed set to 256k.

40-50kbps is a big improvement but still slow i think ?

What do i do with the file i have downloaded ?

Thanks again.

Thanks Jewelish, i realise what the file is now lol "feels stoopid"

I have tried another speed test and since doing a little tweaking i am getting 3mb results from what is supposed to be an 8mb connection, is this reasonable ?

previous tests were 600kb ish so its huge improvement for whatever reason.

I am currently downloading a well seeded torrent and getting 60 odd kbps, how does that sound ?