Question from a newbie about speed

Sparkeroons

Just curious about what kind of speeds other users get. We have Bell Sympatico high-speed. Right now I'm downloading a file and the speed is averaging about 10 kB/s. It's telling me it's going to take another 18 hours to download. Is this normal? The person who told me about torrentz and uTorrent told me she downloads in just 3 hours. I don't know who her internet provider is or what kind of service she has. But I always considered Bell to be very fast. Is it something I'm doing wrong, do you think?

How do you adjust the settings? (Like I said, I'm a newbie, and a total dummy about these kinds of things. I don't want to click on the wrong thing.)

Also, if I have to shut down while a download is in progress, will I lose it altogether and have to start fresh? It's telling me that it's going to take another 22 hours to come down and I can't leave the computer on all that time.

If you shut down uTorrent while it's still downloading, you'll likely only lose a few percent off the total of what you have. (unless the torrent's maker used piece size = 4 MB, then you may lose a LOT of the file/s...but still likely have something left.)

Speed Guide (CTRL+G) in uTorrent asks for your upload speed so it can set a lot of stuff in uTorrent based on your connection.

Try xx/256k and see if it runs any better.

Click on the SPEED window at bottom and see if uTorrent is actually uploading steadily at the new upload limit.

If not, lower the Speed Guide (CTRL+G) setting used to xx/192k or even xx/128k.

You could even try xx/384k or xx/512k, but I doubt your line is that fast. :P