NooB, few questions: saving downloads, & a few others

kiotiMac

Hi. I'm new to using uTorrent. moved from BitComet. I have uTorrent v1.7.7. Have been downloading a file that is at 47% now And when I turn off my computer and turn it on again, the downloaded MB that shows beside the download speed starts at zero again even though the status indicator is increasing steadily.Is this normal?

Secondly, I chose to save new downloads to a partition on my hard drive where a folder was created by uTorrent that has the name of that which I'm downloding. Although this torrent isn't completed I can open it using Power ISO. I notice that even though the amount of download has increased, nothing new shows in the PowerISO interface. Why is that? Should an incomplete download even be openable?

MOST IMPORTANTLY: the only thing visible showing any download info at the bottom of the uTorrent interface is showing of the download speed. If I click any of the other option,ie:'File's, 'Peers', 'Pieces', 'Loggers' etc, I get no information at all, even though the download is showing as downloading.

Is it??

As I didn't know how to get the torrent using uTorrent's means, I used bitcomet to find the download, chose to save it to disk (where an image of it- loaded by firefox-) showed on my com desktop & I did then load it into Utorrent by using the "Add Torrent" button on the interface. Clicked start & set it in motion.

Advice most welcome.

Especially if thie download isn't downloading though all signs are that it is. ( except for the "nothing new in PowerISO".

Am I doing or not doing something tha I should have???

More Important is, am I watching a torrent download that isn't!!!

:-(

ps. I have to go out so can't hold a running conversation at the moment. Please post your advice/replies and I will check back later. Thanks

Click on a torrent to show information ;) You may find the uTorrent Manual helpful (linked below and from the Guides page for convenience).