Newbee ? - Seeding and uploads.

voguy

I'm new to uTorrent, as a friend suggested it for retrieving some radio show bits.

I'm either overlooking the answer in the FAQ or don't have a clear grasp on how the program works. I need some help in understanding how it all works.

I installed the software on my machine, and picked up a link to download some files. After several hours I had my MP3 files, and according to the byte sizes they all appear complete. In the lower part of the program it indicated that I downloaded 6.11mb of files and they were complete. But running in the bottom right was an upload counter, and 1gb had been transferred by morning.

A coworker immediately snatched the CAT-5 cable out of the machine and stated that it was uploading all my personal data to someone, and this was a security breech. Here is my questions.

1 - What was it uploading? Is there a way to tell, a log or something?

2 - What directories (under Win2000) does the program have access to? Can I specify one for sharing, or does it have user access?

3 - I don't mind sharing the files in the directory where I'm downloading to, but does the program have access to my whole C: and in specific my C:\Documents and Settings\vo\My Documents?

Again, I'm new at this, so please be kind. :)

I'm wondering if it would have some value in distributing content for a program like an open source content player.

Although many people already have the music on their machines, the big problem has been how to distribute small audio files with an announcer, or even the .ply files that tell the remote machines what to play.

As I indicated, I'm new to this. I have a lot of learning to do!