Port Forwarding Help!!!

Terok

Hello

I am new to this Utorrent thing and would appreciate some help in opening/forwarding a port. Utorrent won't recognize the port I open.

I have read the Setup Guide as well as the FAQ etc.. I am still having problems.

I am using a Zonet ZSR 1134WE Router. I have followed the instructions several times to set/forward a port. However, it DOES NOT seem to be opening a port. I get the ERROR! message when I test the port through Utorrents Speed Guide.

I do not get a GREEN symbol at the bottom of Utorrent it stays yellow. Its never been red (which I know is good).

Current download stats = 22/75 Seeds & 4/130 Peers. Not sure what this means exactly but I think it could be much better, especially the 4/130 Peers.

Avg d/l speed is approx 50 kB/s

Avg u/l speed is approx 3.5 kB/s

Connection type = xx/2mbit

Please help, I have been working at this for 1/2 a day now and am getting quite frustrated.

Thanks,

Terok

What, if any, Internet security software are you using? What's your network setup (i.e. WebSTAR DPC2100 modem > Linksys WRT54G router > Computers)? When you port forwarded, did you give your computer a static IPA? Did you set that IPA as the destination in the port forward area of the router?

I didn't know Zonet made routers :/. FYI, lots of crap reviews for it on newegg.

You seem to be on Rogers Cable in Canada.

They are incredibly hostile to file-sharing, BitTorrent in particular.

Your firewall problem MAY not be related to that though...and you might even still get ~20 KiloBYTES/second download speeds if you solve the firewall problem.

Your router is not the only thing that can cause firewalled conditions.

Your antivirus software (or viruses!) may too.

Or your modem...gotta check that it doesn't have a hidden firewall in it as well!

Yea, its a cheap router.

Anyway, my ISP is Rogers and yes I am in Canada.