BitTorrent not the P2P solution for those who pay for bandwidth?

planetthoughtful

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to BitTorrent as a P2P platform, having previously used Ares. After playing around with µtorrent for a few days, I've come to the conclusion that while BitTorrent is a great way to share files, it hits hard on those who have to pay for their bandwidth.

In Australia, there is no such thing as 'unlimited bandwidth' [1] - we have to pay for excess usage over whatever is included in our monthly subscription [2]. In playing with BitTorrent, and the µtorrent client, it seems that conceptually every download will cost me twice the amount of data I actually receive, because of upload / download balancing. I realise it's not that simple, but I'm currently looking at a torrent that is downloading and I've received 290mb and uploaded 242mb, so even if it isn't a 1-to-1 relationship, I have to factor in when using BitTorrent that it effectively (and approximately) halves the amount of downloads I can perform in a month.

I realise that 'leeching is bad', and would particularly be so if there's no other reason for it aside from data hoarding and an unwillingness to share, but in some countries leeching is simply an economic reality.

So, sadly, as much as I like using BitTorrent, and as much as I dearly wish I could contribute back to the torrent as much as I take from it (or, even better, that I could *afford* to), it looks like I'm going to have to head back to Ares.

Just thought I'd share my thoughts on the subject, as not all leeches are deliberately being antisocial, but are forced into that behaviour because US internet providers use foreign markets to subsidise US internet users. Sad (for those of us outside the US), but true.

Much warmth to all,

planetthoughtful