New to Torrents? Tutorial For Newbies? Please read and add as you wish

BigShite

NEW TO TORRENTS? THEN YOU MUST READ THIS.

Hello peeps.

I'm a newbie to torrents as a whole. In fact just about a week or so.(today is 9th Jan 2006) My knowledge about computers is very limited. I found out about torrents by accident. And tried all the main programs, Azeurus, BitTorrent, BitComet and found uTorrent worked best. At least for me. If you need to be reassured about this then just read the reviews by users. I did try all the above in a day with the same small-ish downloads and uTorrent won. This article, I hope, shall point out a few things newbies need to know before they get started. Remember I'm no expert and is purely intended to push someone with no knowledge of torrents in the right direction. I welcome any additions, corrections or any offer of help.

When I first logged onto this site when I had speed problems (probably within 10 mins) I went straight to the forum. Now, try typing that in. The results are plentiful. With lots of posts from newbies asking the same bloody questions. ( I'm guilty Firon, I'm sorry). This exampleis one I found. Has anyone searched the forum? Not really if Firon can paste an age old link. Since I got my settings to give better results, I've painfully trawled through loads of these posts (to learn more about torrents from people) and each one added to my frustration because not only was it wasting my time but also the administrators time too. I didn't realise. It really rips my knitting. I mean, Firon and the likes probably spend more time replying to repeat messages or sorting messages in wrong section than they'd like to. If this time was freed up then maybe a tutorial could be made for Dummies, like myself? Perhaps it could be a step by step guide or whatever. Maybe in the future.