My download limit used up.

Sue

OK, I am new to u-torrent, and this problem has probably already been covered; however I am not able to find it.

My problem is that although I have a 25G usage allowance, after 1 day, and trying to download 2 torrents, I went over that allowance and had my internet speed slowed. I still had not been able to download the 2 torrents and it seems that most of the usage was used by others uploading from me. While I realise that this is; and should be the case, it is totally frustrating that much more usage is taken up by this uploading than it is from my downloading. How do people ever manage to download a complete torrent without totally screwing their internet allowance?

Thank you, I think that was of help. I'm not particularly computer literate, and usually just ask my son to help me.....to such an extent that he has now told me he's going to be too busy, lol. So, I'm on my own now, so I will have to learn. I have to say though, that I do find some of these instructions hard to follow. They appear to assume that you already have a workable knowledge of the system, which I don't have.

uTorrent's Scheduler can be set up to run at fast, slow, or seed-only mode...so that can be used to reduce bandwidth use automatically.

2nd link in my signature gives more conservative values for uTorrent's settings than similar Speed Guide (CTRL+G) settings. They too should reduce bandwidth use slightly.

Thanks, I'll go and read it.