Dare I say the word "Font"

Arsegon

Although I am not new to torrents I am a uT newbie and certainly not new to technology. My first computer was home made using wire wrap connections. Yep... time marches on. I have searched for and read every post I can find with the word Font in it and I don't understand some of the reasoning or the reaction in many if not most of the posts requesting font size control. While I really like the uT client for it's size and purpose built design I dislike the fonts because my eyes are not up to the task and I hate wearing reading glasses for computer use. Instead I simply increase the font size. The standard response to this deficiency is usually "increase dpi". Well... running xp pro sp3 on a quad core PC using uT 1.8.1 I can confirm that changing the dpi affects the entire suite of apps on my system _except_ uTorrent. In fact, in my case changing the dpi caused uT to completely lock up and end up "Not Responding". I could not kill it in the process manager as it locked up also. Nasty behaviour requiring a power down to escape.

Anyway, 19 years in the software business has taught me that "nice to have" features are always way down on the list and usually for good reasons as Ultima and littlefire have stated repeatedly in many threads but given the number of times users have asked for font control that works and the seemingly fragile workaround that is there now in my view it should be considered as a reasonable new feature request. I don't want 120 dpi fonts throughout my whole system in any case. Part of a great app is that it should play nice with everyone else imo.

One of the best threads on this topic was

http://forum.utorrent.com/viewtopic.php?id=45147