seeds show 0(###) after dl is complete

brookie

hello,

i have a couple of questions for you veterans since i'm new at utorrent.

when i'm finished downloading a file my utorrent client will show zero of however many seeds are out there. for example, seeds 0(243), peers 57(576).

at this point i continue seeding but does this mean that all those peers are leachers? downloading off of my seeded file?

what happened to all the other seeds that were there when i started the download? for example, mininova will show Share ratio: Average 8337 seeds, 17364 leechers but when i'm done downloading the file and now seeding it, all those other seeds are not displayed in my client.

btw, my router is port forwarded correctly, my dl speed is also set up ok and my speeds are good. i was stopping the file from uploading in utorrent because i thought i was the only seed left.

hmmm? the reason i brought this up is that i don't want to get banned from dling files from sites because i'm not seeding.

also, how would i know if i got banned from a site and how would i get unbanned if i screwed up by accident?

any help in understanding why seeds go to 0 when my dl is finished will be appreciated. sorry about the long post.

cheers,

bk

thanks for the quick reply moogly! :)

how about the seeding time limit. ie, how long should i seed? i can't find any info on mininova, or piratebay or other sites, on how long users should seed before being banned

if i'm seeding for 24 hours for example, will comcast start tweaking my bandwidth down?

mmm... beer...

It's depends on how you're polite & gentle. :D

On public trackers like TPB, many (pure) leechers do hit & run but it's bad for the global speed and the lifetime of torrents. Anyway you can seed to ratio 1.0 if the torrent has an acceptable size.

On private trackers ratios are implemented and the seeding is stronger.

But many ISP cut the bandwith or cap the DL/UL amount per month, so adjust your seeding in function of these elements.