Fixing the UI

Chimichanga

Hey everybody! My name is Manuel i am a 17 yo graphic designer. I thought the app was great! but the UI wasnt as good. So i fired up photoshop and made a mockup :) anyways heres how it looks. Not completely done! but i thought it was good enough to post. I hope you guys take this in consideration, I am willing to work with you guys to make the UI look nice!

9z49

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What contrasting would you see employed? Apparently there are limitations to the OS X GUI. I just want alternate line coloring back :P

Chimichanga, how is your picture different than the current interface?? I'm sorry I don't have the specialization in UI design... but I do think something should be done about the Details/Info pane's background and gradient. (brought up elsewhere)

about the mockup: I like the idea of General/Files/Peers being more like folder tabs instead of buttons that hover in the middle. But otherwise, the mockup seems more windows-like then mac-esque.

@thelittlefire: You don't need to specialize in UI to spot differences in programs. Look at 20081129-pfw7p4ku7qqhfqfyau7uw1y8w.png. If you can't spot the differences, then you're blind. I can spot at least 15 in under 10 seconds of looking at the side by side comparison.

@thelittlefire Are you kidding? The UI in uTorrent 0.9 for Mac is utterly hideous. I really hope the developers think about it and realize how ugly it is - between the awful glossy info pane at the bottom, the ugly blue text, the horrific progress indicators, and obviously many other horrific UI elements. The developers should really take some cues from Transmission, because if they want Mac users to switch from Transmission to uTorrent, it had better look pretty damn good.

Just my 2¢.