'File too large' error

NoSmokingBandit

• 1 month later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Hello OneButMe

I have the exact same problem: Can't download files larger than 4GB that is split into more smaller files (.rar) when I set some of them to "Don't download".

I get the error-message (bad translated and not exact since I can't remember the exact now): "Not enough space on startdisk... Clear up some space."

My specs are uTorrent 0.9.0.4, Mac OS 10.5.6 and disk is formatted as HFS+.

I have >30GB free!!

• 5 months later...

Okay. The FAT32 format will not take files larger than 4 GB. and I can solve this problem by reformatting my external, Western Digital HD in the NTFS format. But will my Mac, which is writing the files to this drive recognize a windows format?

NoOneButMe has suggested I reformat the drive as HFS+ Journaled in Disk Utility. Is this the same as the Mac OS Extended (Journaled) format?

I am not very technical. Do I use this utility to erase the HD and then use the same utility to reformat the drive in the Mac OS Extended (Jounraled) format?

• 1 year later...

I am having the same problem SimpleTech drive formatted to MS-DOS (FAT) and anything above 4GB gets the error and yes, Status says FILE TO LARGE. So if i do need to formate differently what formats (on a mac since according to some windows users this is only a mac problem) would i formate it too... Although someone on the forum mentioned that the format won't accept files larger than 4GB i wanted to point out this is not the case, this problem only occurs with uTorrent and if i must will simply get transmission. I know this because i left Xtorrent for uTorrent as Xtorrent started to crash repetitively, but just before switching i had downloaded south park 50 some GB to the same HD, only thing that changed was my client. Any one have a straight forward solution before i attempt this on my own?