Extremely Slow Download Rate

p.delval

I cant seem to get anything more than 5 kb/s right now, nor have I ever been able to surpass a download rate of 15 kb/s.

I am new to utorrent and have been reading around the forms but found no real answers.

I have played around with the limitations and just ended up placing them all on unlimited.

From reading, I found out that speed is dependent on the number of seeds as well.

out of 2239, i can only get 9 seeds.

out of 890, i can only get 1 peer.

I have not capped any seeding ratios.

I also turned my firewall off, and it did not affect the download rate at all.

Any suggestions on how to improve my download rate?

hello

got a similar prob, using utorrent on mac. I foward the ports, got it all right, checked and unchecked the upnp thing in preferences, got a green little dot on the lower right corner. and that´s nice, right? at least the speed was acceptable, 200K and over download. but then, without me doing anything else, the little green dot turned orange, and eventually red. now i get shity speeds. tried to change ports, both in utorrent and the smc barricade G router, never got a green dot again.

any thoughts?

thanks

orange or red dot usually means your system firewall is preventing incoming connections... in your firewall (sys_prefs->security) select the "allow all incoming connections" thingy... or if you want the firewall, add uTorrent as an exception... that should do it... (note: with firewall blocking it, the port forwarding etc. wont help)

hi

the thingy was checked already... i got a rather psychotic utorrent activity going on here. got a green light again, and then orange and red withow doing anything... i was told that it´s possibily due to a router firmware issue, and advised to update it. i´ll try that, see if it works.

thanks

• 2 weeks later...