How to use torrents safely?

eldon96

Hello,

I have an odd situation that I'd like some advice about.

My sister has been using uTorrent for several years now. About once a year she'd get a malware item for no apparent reason. She doesn't do general web browsing, just news etc. I always assumed she was doing something stupid and getting infected without realizing it. However...

I have just recently installed uTorrent and am ONLY downloading .AVI television shows from TVTorrents.com. I don't download any hijacked software, etc. I have been a computer tech for twenty years and own my own consulting company so I know the dangers of spyware/malware. I am extremely safe with my web browsing and if there is even a twinge of suspicion about a website I use FireFox to minimize my exposure. I have been using uTorrent for six months now without issue but mostly for downloading. Within the last six weeks I have been doing more seeding than downloading with the last two weeks being exclusively seeding. I leave it running 24/7 and only shut it down when I need to reclaim the bandwidth for work purposes.

Friday I sat down at my computer to do some work and FireFox as well as IE was redirecting all my google searches to various advertisement sites. The search results of both Yahoo and Google were pointing to http://go.yahoo.com and http://go.google.com and would then push me to an ad. The PC was working fine when I left it the day before. I tracked it down to a TDSSserv.sys driver that was loaded in the hidden devices of my device manager (and had variations on the TDSSxxxx.dll in my system32 folder). I disabled the driver and cleaned the files and all is well. Some say that is closely linked to the WinAntiVirus 2009 infections but I have no evidence of that on my system.