Help understanding some torrent fundamentals pls...

Bullman

Hello,

I am new to using torrents and have questions which will help me understand a few basics for how it all works. (I might be asking heaps of stuff but if you can help out on any thats cool).

I will try and explain how I think it works and what I don't know. Be good if someone could fill whatever gaps you can or correct me where I am wrong. It's a bit all over the place so here goes........

I understand the concept of the P2P and sharing files and seeding/leeching etc.

Now when you want to search for a file(s)/movie/program or whatever to downlaod using torrents, you need to search for what you want on specific "torrent servers" (don't know). I don't know which sites are best or really where to lokk for list sof these but I guess if I Google for "torrent servers" I might find something.

When you find what you are looking for at the torrent server site (that may have 1000's of things on it to choose from), you may find serval "links" to something that looks like what you are after for you to choose from. Some sites show the number of size, seeds and leechers (eg. http://www.mininova.org). From this choice you need to pick a "torrent"(?). I guess I would pick the ones that had the most seeds. There is always a chance that what you download icould be garbage anyways (because Im sure some people label stuff as one thing but fill it with junk just to p@$$ people off) so there is always going to be a risk that you waste your time.

Regardless of that, you click on that link and a .torrent file os downloaded to your PC. From what I underastand this is just a "link" that is read by your torrent program on "where to look" for this file. So you load the file in your torrent program and stuff starts downloading and uploading.

What I don't understand is if say, you have found and picked a "torrent" to download from say http://www.mininova.org. Let's say it is listed as: