Preferences Settings for New User

buffyslay

I'm new to Torrents and am presently downloading one file (1.52 GB). The Connection light is green and everything seems ok. However I'd like to know more about what settings I should be using to get good/optimum performance (currently all settings are defaults) so I need a more experienced user to inform me since there doesn't appears to be a Mac uTorrent guide or FAQ yet and trying to follow one of the many for Windows users is unhelpful.

I'm on a 256/64 ADSL1 plan with a 3 GB per month download quota. Once I go over the 3 GB my download speed is throttled to 64kb/s (believe me it doesn't take long to use up 3 GB). I used Speedtest.net to determine my current throttled average download/upload speed which is:

Average Download Speed: 26kb/s

Average Upload Speed: 5kb/s

Based on the above results what are the optimum settings I should be using to ensure good downloading performance while also having enough bandwidth for web surfing?

Bandwidth:

Download limits: Limit download rate to: ? kB/s

Upload limits: Limit upload rate manually to: ? kB/s

Limit seeding rate to: ? kB/s

Seeding: Stop seeding at up/down ratio: ?

BitTorrent:

Connections: Global limit: ?

Per torrent limit: ?

Peers: Enable Distributed Hash Table network - do I need this?

Enable Peer Exchange for public torrents - do I need this?

Queues: Active transfers limit: ?

Active downloads limit ?

Outgoing Encryption: Do I need this and if yes does it slow performance?

Network:

Incoming TCP port: Presently set to 32248 (default). Is this a good port to use or should I change it and to what?

Upload limits: Limit upload rate manually to: 3 kB/s

Limit seeding rate to: 4 kB/s

Seeding: Stop seeding at up/down ratio: 100% (if you don't stop it sooner)

Upload Slots per torrent: Set to 1 or 2.

BitTorrent:

Connections: Global limit: 25

Per torrent limit: 20