Moving .torrent files and and content files once I'm seeding...

ryancousins

Ok, so I know this is probably a really silly question, but I'm a novice at bittorrent, but trying to not just be one of the millions of clueless leechers out there. I searched around on this forum and other sites looking for my answer but didn't find what I was looking for. I know the mac port (which I'm running) is different in some ways to the original so I think this is the best place to ask...

While I'm downloading a file using a torrent, I have the .torrent file and the content sit in my "downloads" folder in OS X. However, once I have finished downloading I would love very much to share the love and seed like crazy, but I also don't want all of these files sitting in my download folder forever. I would like to move the .torrent files into a generic torrent folder on my drive, and file away the content into my various folders, depending on whether it is a program/iso, music, movie, etc. Is there an easy way to do this?

Thanks for any help!

ryan

I can't remember if the seeding percentage is shown by default on uTorrent Mac, because that is one of the first things that I changed, however if you press ctrl(control)-click on the bar at the top (right click on a 2 button mouse), you can display your ratio, download speed, etc.

When a file has a ratio that you are comfortable with, or you no longer wish to see it, you can stop the torrent, then go to the download folder, and move it safely.

You can ctrl-click (right click) the torrent and remove it from the list, as well.

• 9 months later...

I have the same situation and have not been able to find an answer. Personally, I like Transmission much better because you can click on and move the files anytime within the program, even in the middle of downloading or seeding. I find this a basic need and can't believe uTorrent doesn't have it. Unfortunately, the site I belong to wants people to use uTorrent, so I deal with it.