700 kB/s with Orange, 25 kB/s with BT :(

theguitarguy

Hey guys,

Need some help if possible.

I was with Orange Broadband for 2 years and was getting download speeds using utorrent of up to 700 kB/s constantly.

Two weeks ago I changed to BT broadband, and now I'm getting download speeds of 150 kB/s max but it usually settles at 25 kB/s :(

Anyone have any advice ?

Cheers in advance

I have, but I have a problem with the technical talk everyone who ''knows'' about this type of thing uses. I dont understand it all.

I downloaded utorrent with Orange BB, opened it, and was getting 700 kB/s, I was just lucky I guess. Now My speeds suck, and I havent a clue. I'm not technically minded, sorry.

Switeck, I've followed your advice/links but still no improvement.

I've got off the telephone with BT are insisting they are not throttling anything during off peak.

My line speed has improved since I changed to BT by around 0.5mb , but my torrent speed is a shadow of what it was. Could it be down to router/hub settings or could it lie with utorrent settings ?

BT Central and almost all the major ISPs in the UK are being "strongly encouraged" (forced) by the government to reduce "piracy" by >70%. They tell you it's not throttled during non-peak hours...they lie. It is being restricted. It seems to even be disrupted -- as I've heard reports of people on torrents that SHOULD have 50+ peers/seeds connecting to them that can't get 10.

Changing ISPs probably will not help for long.

Soon it will be raining everywhere.

When a friend with BT is getting over 700 kB/s with 100GB monthly allowance and I was getting 700 kB/s with 40GB monthly allowance, it didnt seem like much of a risk. I still find it hard to believe that its down to BT why I'm getting 25 kB/s, especially when he's getting over 700 kB/s using the same service/package.