Jump to content

uTorrent killing it's config files!


Fornit

Recommended Posts

2 Config files

"%profile%\Application Data\uTorrent\resume.dat"

"%profile%\Application Data\uTorrent\settings.dat"

are getting killed with every OS crash.

uTorrent is overwriting them every minute, and if my computer crashes or freezes, those files are gone.

I have to use special bat file to save them every day, otherwise I risk to lost them permanently.

uTorrent need "safe write" feature, like in eMule. This soft have to be crash-proof.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Firon, I'm working on my faulty hardware, I already bought a new computer parts. But that's not the point. Software must NEVER, under ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, destroy it's important data. eMule, for example, satisfy this condition. And uTorrent has many cases of killing it's config already, atomic write is not working?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1) Agent Forte files was NEVER corrupted by system crash (I using it since 98).

2) Same about eMule and Miranda.

3) I know about FF. My bat file backuping it as well. But they creating a solution - sqlite bases, for example.

What uTorrent needs to do, is chain backup writing. Old resume.dat renamed to resume.01.old, resume.01.old renamed to resume.02.old, and so on - up to 10.old. If resume.dat is zeroed, UT looks in resume.01.old, if it's zeroed - in resume.02.old... You got the idea.

Before I set up the backups, I had to run NT Undelete to recover erased copy of resume.dat. And it worked. So you simply don't need to delete resume.dat too soon.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 8 months later...

Could it keep a few of the old ones around. I have just lost an 8 meg resume.dat file when I plugged in a USB device that did something stupid, thats about 500 torrents I will have to readd, retarget to the files on the NAS and let check since my last backup of the user directory that has a resume.dat in it.

Crashes happen, the app should be able to roll back to previous ones, ideally without me doing anything when relaunching it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...