Nothing is working

Downfurlife

I assume my issue i operator error. My problem might be I have a degree in Business Management not IT. While I am not computer savvy; I am not one to define myself as a scrub. I have been around and successfully used computers all of my life.

However, there are 20,000 plus threads here. My head is not spinning - it spun off my head. Everyone on every other forum seems to tell me something different to do. Sometimes they explain with detailed clarity why it is better other times they just tell me to do it!

My issue is not a hardware problem. I believe it is a user ignorance issue. 8gig ram, AMD 965, Phenom..... CPU is 2 weeks out of the box.

I have a 6mb DSL connection(At&t):

Your Throughput

Download = 5.034 Mbps

Upload = 658.43 kbps

(That is the lowest I have received for download. The upload lowest is 624). I also receive something calles 11-16 MS. I am told by the phone company I am near one of their trunks/routers(or something) they tell me this is a great thing.

Vonage

Rouger: D-Link Di-604 (yes, I know it is old.) However, it does its job just as good as any other.

SO that is my set up. I am so frustrated and confused it makes me sick. There is so much information I am dizzy then I get sick! Sometime torrents work sometimes torrents do not work. Sometimes when I run utorrent if I run a speed test the speed dips below 1Mbps(usually it does not). Sometimes I get download speeds of 330 usually I do not(the same was true on my older computer - same router/setup/dsl).

I tried to download openoffice as suggested. THE DARN THING never started; this happens all the time.

Am I allowed to scream? I have been downloading a torrent for the last 8 hours:

Seeds: 56(927)<-- What does the 927 mean 76(2785)<--- What is the 927?!?!

I have been getting an average download speed of 45.? down and 60.? upload