What is considered a "polite" ratio?

cyclopticgaze

Hello.

I'm kinda new to torrents. Right now, I'm using uTorrent to manage 5 or 6 torrents. I've downloaded all the files, and I'm currently seeding them back to people. These aren't terribly popular files, so I've left uTorrent going for a while. (All the seeds are listed at 0(3) or something close to that, all the peers at 5(30) or the like.)

Currently, my ratios for these torrents are sitting at 2-6, with most on the high end of that scale. That's a lot of bandwidth considering the files are 300-600 MB in size. My question is, what do people generally consider a "polite" ratio? At what ratio is it cool to say, "OK, I've given enough back to the community now," and close down the torrents?

I would put what Kazuaki Shimazaki said in a slightly different way: anything below 1:1 is pretty bad.

Your ratios of 2-6 are considered polite, but with µtorrent's low memory usage, I see no real reason to remove a torrent unless it is dead.

You can always cap your upload if the seeding takes too much of your bandwidth.

You can also prioritize other torrents as high if you wish.

I just leave things alive. Sooner or later new members to torrent sites will want that upload.

Even if they don't, a scrape every 30 minutes or so uses no bandwidth to speak of.

Eventually, I will drop one or two things to make room for newer stuff, but I figure that "I got it for free so why not keep it available"

:)