How can I make downloads faster?

ZombieEater

I just need tips on little tweaks to make my uTorrent download faster. I would google it but frankly, I don't trust it. I figured this would be the best place to get some correct answers. Any help would be great. Thank you.

P.S. I am a complete newbie when it comes to things like this. So please be patient.

**Edited to add I think I have set the speeds correctly, but not sure. I'm using an old Alltel card for my internet. if that helps. I have also looked through the stickies.

Another edit - I tested my internet speed again. It came up with Download Bandwidth (KBit/s) - 238

Upload Bandwidth (KBit/s) - 20

So what exactly do I need to set it to?

I see your YouTube tutorial and raise you this thread. While that particular video wasn't as bad as most videos (yes, I actually watched through most of it), it still has a few wonky recommendations...

- It tells you to add a ton of trackers. For no real reason. Don't bother.

- It tells you change the port to 55000. Well, that's assuming you actually forwarded that specific port.

I couldn't watch the video anyway. Among other things, my audio fails on my computer.

I've never watched a Youtube instructional video. I trust Youtube about as far as I can throw it. =/

It seems to be doing decent but it could be better. Now I have a new question. [Forgive me if it is in the wrong section.]

If I get more seeds and peers for a torrent it downloads faster. [i think. >.>]

If that is correct, how do I go about it? Everyone thread I have found about it tells me to find a new torrent. Said torrent is so rare I had to really search to find it. What if there is no new torrent? Is there some sort of way I can get more seeds and peers?

[[still a noob but I'm learning some now.]]