erratic upload speed

streetstopper

hi guys,

i'm new to utorrent and have found it to be a great software for such a small size.

anyways, i am having a problem with my upload speed.

with bittornado, i can cap my upload and download speed to 20kBps and during the whole download, my upload and download speed would actually stick to the cap with variation of +/-3kBps. every few, the upload speed would even be higher than the download speed by 1 or 2kBps. this also means that my share ratio would eventually be more than 1.000 by the time i have finished the download.

on the other hand, with utorrent, with the same caps for upload and download, my download would stick to the cap with just a few variation every now and then. however, my upload speed would be very erratic, changing from 20kBps this few seconds down to 0.5kBps after a few, then go up again. what happens is, by the time the download is finished, my share ratio would always be lower than 1.000.

my temporary solution would be to increase my upload speed so i would reach 1.000 share ratio after starting the download. once i have reached that, i'd cap both the upload and download speed back to 20kBps. but it's a little disappointing that after a few, i'd see my share ratio going down again and by the time the download is finished, i still haven't shared as much as i have downloaded.

any comments on my problem or what i can do?

TIA.

regards!

thanks, ultima, for the quick reply.

did what you have suggested. but take a look at how it goes here:

erratic.jpg

you would see that my upload still dips then goes up, then down again.

what i currently am experimenting on is increasing the number of upload slots. who knows, it might even help. current upload slot is 4. 10 seems to help stabilize the speed.

regards!

untitled18tc.gif

thats how mine looks. it should be a lot more stable.... (red is upload btw.)

it might be that torrent though.