uT 1.8.5 Win7 - 'Can't open .torrent file' error

vanDivX

Torrents downloading ok, then they go seeding but during seeding something happens and all of a sudden all seeding torrents get red cross icon and Status is 'Can't open .torrent file: D:\...' error.

I am not sure what triggers this, maybe when uTorrent is shut down and then started and it can't seed anymore, it happens with all torrents that happen to be seeding at the time, like I had some six torrents going 'red' like this in one swoop.

And while I am not too experienced with making old torrents to seed again, this should be simple thing, given they are in the location uT downloaded them to and nothing has been changed with them. I try to right click them and select Force re-check but it does nothing, Open containing folder works ok.

My impression is that the selection of download location in Options is buggy. I had torrents filing not to specified location but one level above it and even if I leave them where they are, still before long they fail to seed due to this error.

I notice some people using uT v2, is that beta and for win7 or what? I believe my 1.8.5 is current stable release.

/Edit: I went to check and now its v2.0 that is stable release, I will change to it and hope my problem will not be happening anymore. Should I just reinstall or uninstall manually and then install the new version?

You should be able to upgrade without any problems. Just in case, I guess you could always back up %appdata%\uTorrent.

That µTorrent can't find the .torrent files has nothing to do with the download folder selection. It means you lost the files, or the .torrent files weren't there when µTorrent tried to access them. µTorrent itself only reads the files (not delete or write) after it copies the original .torrent file to its cache -- unless you removed the associated torrent jobs and told µTorrent to remove the .torrent files with the torrent jobs.